College of Natural & Agricultural Sciences

Vernon A. Kramer Memorial Service Award

Vernon A. Kramer Memorial Service Award

Dr. Vernon A. Kramer (1924-1985) taught for and helped develop the Mathematics Department at UCR. He studied under such reputed mathematicians as A.A. Albert at the University of Chicago and Frantisek Wolf at UC Berkeley. Hired in 1954 as part of the UCR Physical Sciences faculty, Dr. Kramer proved to be invaluable. Among many other services, he authored curricula, catalog copy, and grant proposals; he conducted extensive searches for new faculty and worked with the administration in the development of the structure of the new department.
His colleagues created this memorial to honor Dr. Kramer's memory. It takes a great deal of effort for our department to accomplish all that it does. We are thankful that we have such a large contingent of graduate students who are more than willing and able to not only contribute to the department, but to also go the extra mile. When graduate students consistently steps up to help other grads and instructors, help with events, attend recruitment fairs, and more, we put forth the effort to recognize and thank them with the Vernon A. Kramer Memorial Service Award.

2022 - 2023 Award Recipients

The 2022-23 Vernon Kramer Memorial Service Award winners are: Jennifer Rangel Ambriz, Khoi Vo, Raymond Matson, and Will Hoffer. Thank you so much, we truly appreciate your extensive support of the UCR math community this year.


Jennifer Rangel Ambriz, UCR
Khoi Vo, UCR
Raymond Matson, UCR
Will Hoffer, UCR
Jennifer Rangel Ambriz
Khoi Vo
Raymond Matson
Will Hoffer

Past Winners of the Vernon A. Kramer Memorial Service Award

  • 2021 - 2022

    Jacob Garcia

    Austin Hansen

    Alysha Toomey

    Noble Williamson

  • 2020 - 2021

    Alysha Toomey

    Jennifer Rangel Ambriz

    Michael McNulty

    Savanna Gee

  • 2019 - 2020

    Jonathan Alcaraz

    Therese-Marie Landry

    Matthew Overduin

  • 2018 - 2019

    Timothy McEldowney

    Ryan Moruzzi

    Xavier Ramos-Olivé

  • 2017 - 2018
    Dane Lawhorne
    Ryan Moruzzi

    John Simanyi
  • 2016 - 2017

    Donna Blanton

    Kayla Murray

    Andrew Walker

  • 2015 - 2016

    Andrea Arauza

    Donna Blanton

    Robert Willett

  • 2014 - 2015

    Thomas Schellhous

    Joshua Strong

    John Simanyi

  • 2013 - 2014

    John Dusel

    Jason Erbele

    Matthew Lee

    Matthew O'Dell

    Lisa Schneider

    Peri Shereen

    Jeffrey Wand

    Parker Williams

  • 2012 - 2013

    Tim Cobler

    Jason Erbele

    Dennis Gumaer
    Brett Sanchez

    Lisa Schneider

    Peri Shereen

    Jeffrey Wand

  • 2011 - 2012

    Ed Haley

    Nishua Lal

    Daniel Majcherek

    Paul Oeser

    Juan Zaragoza

  • 2010 - 2011

    Matthew Bennett

    Jack Bennett

    Ed Haley

    Nathan Manning

    Kimberly Puen

Let us help you with your search