More scholarships


The Ketchersid Scholarship

math students (c) UCR/CNAS
Ernest E. & Rosalie C. Ketchersid Endowed Scholarship Fund Information Request Form


To be a viable prospect for The Ketchersid  Scholarship, one must:

  • Be a UCR majors within Mathematics (Applied Mathematics, Pure Mathematics, Mathematics for Secondary Teachers) with at least a 3.0 GPA.
  • Must be from either Riverside or San Bernardino counties.
  • Be able to show his or her financial need for this scholarship.
  • Have a current and accurate FAFSA form on file. The Financial Aid Office will use this form to verify an applicant's financial need for this scholarship.
  • Write a 250 to 500 word essay describing your mathematical accomplishments and goals, to be submitted with the application (your essay will be uploaded as either a word or pdf file). The essay is your chance to communicate and demonstrate why  you need and deserve this scholarship. Be sure to outline the reasons for your need and want of this financial/educational opportunity.
  • Follow the link to fill out the application-form:  Ketchersid Scholarship Application Form

Past Winners/Recipients of the Ketchersid Scholarship

Winners of the Ketchersid Scholarship are chosen out of many eligible applicants. Several stand out students are chosen based on their academic achievements and their financial need which each student demonstrates in his or her submitted essay. The UCR Math Department's continued congratulations go to the math undergraduates listed below.


Jasmine Morales
Eva-Christin Schwesig
Brenda Bravo
Ryan Vargo
Ricardo Aguila
Monica Rico
Paige Helms
Rayanatou Keita


Adam Anaya
Brenda Bravo
Raymundo Torres Bravo
Vanessa Hernandez
Jamie Madrigal
Monica Rico
Angela Richarte
Trang Tran


Savannah Sprague
Sy Flores
Vanessa Hernandez
Monica Rico
Peter Torres
Guadalupe Gonzalez
Angela Richarte


Jennifer Oh


Samuel Aldaco
Jennifer Oh
Alyjohn Iling
Hyunsang Im
Nou Vang
Jennifer Avila Cerros
Joshua Bhatnagar
Coral Chaney


Amanda Hoisington
William Avila
Bailey Yuan
Coral Chaney
Michelle Nuno
Roger Quatch
Quang Vo
Amber Ludwig
Jonathan Meir


Coral Chaney
Nisreen Gabaji
Michelle Black
Roger Quach
Ashley Gregory
Amanda Hoisington
Emad Totari
Khoa Tran
Alex Owens
Monika Ujkic


Mar Ni
Nisreen Gabaji
Hong Yue Wilson
Coral Chaney
Matthew Cheng
Emad Totari
Leo Vu
Adam Tatum
Sork Chor
Monika Ujkic
Kaitlin Giacalone
Nastazha Sneed
Jonathan Mejer


Matthew Cheng
Mar Ni
Karina Rodriguez
Hong Yue Wilson
Nisreen Gabaji
Emad Totari
Ivy Nguyen


Joseph Adams
Raymond Herzog
Jeffrey Wand
Laura Avina
Xuan Li
Jacob Ochsner
Hong Yue Wilson


female student (c) unsplash

The Bosch Prize

Deborah K. Bosch Memorial Scholarship Fund

History and Purpose:

Barbara Bosch wishes to establish a current restricted fund with the UC Riverside Foundation, a California non-profit corporation, with the conditions and purposes contained in this document. The name of the fund shall be the Deborah K. Bosch Memorial Mathematics Award Fund ("Fund"), in memory of her twin sister. The donor intends to make regular contributions to the Fund until such time that it is endowed. Dr. Deborah K. Bosch graduated in 1979 from UCR with a B.S. in Mathematics. She attended Stanford University, where she received a Master of Science degree in Mathematics and a Ph.D. in Engineering-Economic Systems. For more than two decades, Deborah was a management consultant nationally and internationally. She volunteered her time and skills in support of educational programs and also to community development organizations in Africa. Deborah was a wonderfully kind person who placed great value on education. Deborah passed away on June 23, 2009 after a courageous battle with cancer.


Selection and Guidelines:

  • Student shall be a UCR full-time senior.
  • Must be a math major.
  • Must have demonstrated outstanding achievement in the study of mathematics and exception mathematical aptitude.
  • The student must be a prospect for a career field that utilizes mathematics.
  • It is the Donor's preference that the recipient be female.


Mathematics Department Chairperson selects the recipient from the top academic students in the department yearly. There is no application process for this award.


Bosch Prize Winners - Continued Congratulations go to...


Shannon Sweitzer
Vanessa Tanik
Muhua Ngan
Michelle Nuno
Jennifer Avila


student smiling (c) unsplash

Bryce-Mason Award in Mathematics Background

With deep appreciation for his outstanding educational experience at UCR, Dr. Bryce Mason has created an endowed award to support undergraduate students who have exhibited passion for and excellence in mathematics. Bryce found that the rigor required for the study of mathematics greatly improved his reasoning and critical thinking, which have been beneficial throughout his life and career. He also fondly recalls a warm, collegial learning environment made by faculty and fellow students. Bryce hopes that the recipients of this award will similarly enjoy and benefit from their mathematical journey.

An alumnus of UCR (Class of 2001), Bryce earned a B.S. in Mathematics with highest honors and was recognized with the Best Graduating Mathematics Major Award for that class. After UCR, Bryce continued his education in a more applied field, earning a Ph.D. in Policy Analysis from the RAND Graduate School in 2005. He has primarily worked in higher education in the field of lnstitutional Research, first as a Research Analyst at UCR, then as Director of lnstitutional Research at Loyola Marymount University, and subsequently again at UCR as Assistant Vice Chancellor for Institutional Research. Bryce has also served as the Vice President and President of the California Association for Institutional Research, a statewide professional association.


Eligible Students Shall Be...

  • Mathematics majors.
  • Continuing juniors at the time of the selection process (beginning their senior year at the time of award disbursement).
  • Deemed by the faculty of the Department of Mathematics to have exhibited excellence in: the study of mathematics and to have contributed to a positive learning environment.


Application Process

To apply for this award, please submit the following materials by May 3, 2021:

  1. Copy of unofficial transcript
  2. Current curriculum vitae
  3. One, preferably two letters of recommendation from UCR mathematics faculty members to be sent via email to

All materials should be submitted via email to


To Donate

Click here to donate to the Bryce Mason Award



2017 - 2018: Sofia Martinez Alberga



Let us help you with your search