Department of Mathematics

Outstanding Teaching Assistants & Service Awards

Faculty Profile

Faculty Profile

for the Mathematics Department

TA Plaque Enlarge

Mathematics Department Outstanding TA Plaque

Every academic year the Teaching Assistant Development Program recognizes the outstanding teaching assistants selected by each of the UC Riverside departments. Though it is hard to choose a select few out our TAs consistently strong efforts, every year a number of TAs manage to find a way to stand out from the group.


Academic Year|Recipients
2017 - 2018   Ryan Moruzzi, Elliot Best, Matthew Lee, Rikelle Mendonsa, Lawrence MouillĂ©
2016 - 2017   Mikahl Banwarth-Kuhn, Alexander Henderson, Matthew Lee, Ryan Moruzzi, Lawrence MouillĂ©, Kayla Murray, John Simanyi, Jordan Tousignant, Andrew Walker
2015 - 2016   Andrea, Arauza, Brandon Coya, Thu Van Nguyen, Scott Roby, Lauren Ruth, Alex Sherbetjian, John Simanyi, Jordan Tousignant
2014 - 2015   Donna Blanton, Jacob West, Jason Erbele, Kaylee Hamann, Mathew Lunde, Matthew O'Dell, Soheil Safii, Thomas Schellhous
2013 - 2014   Jeffrey Wand, Lisa Schneider, Peri Shereen, Tim Cobler
2012 - 2013   Nancy Duong
2011 - 2012   Daniel Majcherek
2010 - 2011   John Dusel, Edgar Haley, Hafedh Herichi, Michael Sill
2009 - 2010   Jack Bennett, Samuel Chamberlin, Nishu Lal, Brian Rolle
2008 - 2009   Scott Childress, Barbara Herzog, Michael Sill, Matthew Wiley
2007 - 2008   Jack Bennett
2006 - 2007   Jennifer Burke Loftus, Ronald Dolbin, Timothy Ridenour
2005 - 2006   Britta Daudert, Thao-Nhi Luu
2004 - 2005   Eric Overholser, Erin Pearse, John Rock
2003 - 2004   Dustin Culhan, Jagannatha Senesi
2002 - 2003   Colin McLaughlin, Kathy Nabours
2001 - 2002   Amanda Brown, Alissa Crans
2000 - 2001   Dimitar Grantcharov
1999 - 2000   Thang Le
1998 - 1999   Derek Dreier, Suzanne Lindborg

I want to teach teachers...

Vernon A. Kramer, UCR Mathematics Professor, on his very first day of school

Bell Towers

Dr. Vernon A. Kramer (1924-1985) taught for and helped develop the Mathematics Department at UCR. He studied under such reputed mathematicians as A.A. Albert at the University of Chicago and Frantisek Wolf at UC Berkley. Hired in 1954 as part of the UCR Physical Sciences faculty, Dr. Kramer proved to be invaluable. Among many other services, he authored curricula, catalog copy, and grant proposals; he conducted extensive searches for new faculty and worked with the administration in the development of the structure of the new department.

His colleagues created this memorial to honor Dr. Kramer's memory.

It takes a great deal of effort for our department to accomplish all that it does. We are thankful that we have such a large contingent of graduate students who are more than willing and able to not only contribute to the department, but to also go the extra mile. When a graduate student consistently steps up to help other grads and instructors, help with events, attend recruitment fairs, and more, we put forth the effort to recognize and thank him or her with the Vernon A. Kramer Memorial Service Award.

Academic Year Awarded|Recipients
2017 - 2018   Ryan Moruzzi, John Simanyi, Dane Lawhorne
2016 - 2017   Andrew Walker, Kayla Murray, Donna Blanton
2015 - 2016   Andrea Arauza, Donna Blanton, Robert Willett
2014 - 2015   Thomas Schellhous, Joshua Strong, John Simanyi
2013 - 2014   Jeffrey Wand, Peri Shereen, Lisa Schneider, John Dusel, Jason Erbele, Parker Williams,
Matthew O'Dell, Matthew Lee
2012 - 2013   Brett Sanchez, Tim Cobler, Jason Erbele, Dennis Gumaer, Lisa Schneider, Peri Shereen, Jeffrey Wand
2011 - 2012   Ed Haley, Nishua Lal, Daniel Majcherek, Paul Oeser, Juan Zaragoza
2010 - 2011   Matthew Bennett, Jack Bennett, Ed Haley, Nathan Manning, Kimberly Puen

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Career OpportunitiesUCR Libraries
Campus StatusMaps and Directions

Department Information

Department of Mathematics
Surge (Skye) Hall 202

Tel: (951) 827-3113
Fax: (951) 827-7314

Office Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. & 1:00 p.m. - 4:45 p.m.

Related Links